Welcome to the home of Ordshaw.

Want an introduction to an unusual world of fiction? Start with the darkly humorous short story, THE WRONG WAY – available free to Phil Williams’ reader group.



urban fantasy novel

A late night abduction. A book of horrors. Can a gambling loner unravel this city’s darkest secrets?

Pax Kuranes has two simple goals: make rent and win a poker tournament. When a young man robs her, and she finds out she’s the least dangerous person after him, her ambitions quickly shift to keeping herself alive. To do that, she’s going to have to figure out exactly what he was into – and what’s lurking under Ordshaw.

Buy on Amazon

wixon's day novel

Marquos just wanted to see what was left of the world. He never meant to join the war to save it.

Marquos drifts through the cloud-concealed Empire of Estalia, searching for hope of a better future as he scavenges to survive. In the Deadland of the North, they say the sky is clear, and the stars shine. Marquos dreams of seeing it. He believes there is beauty there, even as he drifts into a world of savages.

With rebels plaguing the canals, and the authoritarian Guards pursuing Marquos for his attempts to liberate a child, the route north is wrought with peril. The militant rulers and the ragged resistance fighters vie for the boatman’s support, drawing Marquos into a war many don’t realise exists, and revealing secrets about the world that threaten to wipe out what little is left.

Buy on Amazon

steampunk novel

He didn’t know how savage the world was – until he met Deni.

As the days grow darker in the Estalian Empire, young Tyler stays positive by helping others. But when he meets a girl on the run with enemies in the highest places, Tyler’s life gets complicated fast. Deni isn’t afraid to kill, and she’s got a secret that could tear apart the sky.

In a mortal chase that takes them from a besieged city across the war-torn countryside, Tyler soon discovers that the Empire’s guardians are their most dangerous foe. Worse still, Deni is faced with a terrible choice: remain hidden and save herself – or expose herself to prevent the oncoming darkness.

Buy on Amazon

dystopian novella free

Isolated in the derelict estate of the engineer Balfair, with only a miserable fellow slave for company, Deni dreams of changing her arduous life. When her master drags something new from the swamp and excludes her from his secretive project, she finally sees her chance. Deni determines to do whatever it takes to break free – even if it brings the full weight of the war-mongering Guard down on Balfair.

The results may be devastating, but they will notice her at last – and she will be free.

Buy on Amazon

a most apocalyptic christmas

On the night before Christmas, mercenary Scullion’s ride home is ambushed halfway between the last surviving cities in America. Concerned only with getting drunk for the holiday, his attempts to abandon his fellow passengers to bandits lead him on a collision course with a barbaric community who have utterly distorted the seasonal spirit. This is one madcap night he cannot survive alone, challenging his perceptions of the meaning of Christmas.

Buy on Amazon 


phil williams authorPhil Williams was born in the commuter-belt of Hertfordshire, where he learnt to escape a comfortable life through sinister fantasy fiction. He has worked as an English teacher, a copywriter, a media researcher and a start-up executive, and continues to offer services in writing, editing and tutoring.  He has lived and worked in Prague, Moscow and the Abu Dhabi desert, though ultimately settled for a quiet seaside town in the UK. Phil now resides in Worthing with his wife and his unimaginably fluffy dog, Herbert. He is currently working on 3 novel series.

The Estalia series began with Wixon’s Day, in 2012, the first full-length novel Phil published, following apathetic boatman Marquos as he is drawn into a war that uncovers truths about the forgotten history of his desolate world. The post-apocalyptic landscape of Estalia is shrouded in cloud and populated by an anarchistic society struggling to rebuild. Its reconstructed steampunk technology and distorted traditions offer hints of a long-lost civilisation, though to unravel the mysteries the population must first overcome their internal power struggles.

The Ordshaw series is a series of urban fantasy thrillers set in and around the UK city of Ordshaw – a metropolis where vile creatures threaten to unsettle all we know of the world. The Pax Kuranes novels fully explore the city of Ordshaw, as a reclusive young gambler discovers a hidden labyrinth under her city and is drawn into a centuries-old war between humans, monsters and diminutive fairies.

The Faergrowe Free State series follows a group of mercenaries in a near-future world laid to waste by a global war. With food scarce and countries replaced by city-states, it’s every person for themselves, with very few striving to restore peace and order. The stories focus on English mercenary Scullion and his irreverent involvement in the rise of a new world order. The series currently features a Christmas-themed novella, A Most Apocalyptic Christmas, and Scullion is set to return to dispense his own manner of loutish justice in the first Faergrowe novel, The Worst Survive.

Get in touch

I love to hear from my readers.
Drop me a message at:

email phil williamsphil@phil-williams.co.uk


Find me on Facebook, Twitter and all that jazz:

phil williams author facebookfantasticphil twittergoodreads

Join our list

Sign up for book updates and receive a free copy of A Most Apocalyptic Christmas.